Donate (64)

Donation.

Definitely not the first word that someone on a graduate student budget thinks. But with the recent events in my home state of New Jersey, donating was something that I not only wanted to do, but I felt obligated to do. Over the past week I have had friends send me pictures and tell stories of the destruction. I have friends all over the state, thanks to Rutgers, and it is hard to find anyone unaffected. I have friends who have beach houses lost, cars destroyed, and ongoing loss of power. It seems that now more than ever, the great state of New Jersey needs my help.Donating was easy. I have been planning on donating for a while but never seemed to actually pick up the card and do it. Today, as I was in Walgreen’s, I was prompted by the credit card machine to donate money to the Red Cross for hurricane Sandy relief. I’m assuming that Walgreen’s does not keep any percentage of my donation, but that’s not the point. The point is that people out there need help. It is easy to say that others will donate or that the states will find money somewhere, but the truth is that every dollar from every person counts. Red Cross is a great organization and I have faith that my money will be put to good use.

If you want to also donate, I urge you to give what you can at www.redcross.org. Every dollar counts. For those not looking to donate, consider buying some products where proceeds go to hurricane relief, such as Jetty’s Hurricane Sandy Relief T-Shirt. Jetty is a New Jersey based clothing company that is making great efforts to help raise money to rebuild the shore towns New Jersey residents have loved for so long.

I understand if people may not want to help for this particular cause, but regardless of who you are, everyone has something they care about. I challenge you to donate anything: time, money, clothing, food, to a cause that you believe in. There are people out there who need your help.

What are you waiting for? Go HERE and donate!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Community Service, Personal

Leave a Reply

